Beginnings of a Long Summer

DSC00008.jpg

I haven’t written anything for a while, mostly because life’s been pretty good to me this year and I haven’t felt the need to vent or anything but now everything has changed.

Today I got on a plane to fly 7000 miles away from home and 10,000 miles away from my girlfriend. It’s been hard on me; while I’ve always been a traveler, not once have I been to a foreign land on my own. I’m responsible for everything from my money to my visa, even boarding. To be honest, it’s terrifying but I have faith that this will be a rewarding experience for me. I hope to make new friends in China while strengthening existing bonds and improve my Chinese to the point of fluency and get a feel for what it’s like to be completely responsible for my own actions and well-being. Today, Tuesday, June 22, will be the first day I’ve ever spent in Hong Kong. My parents assure me it’s a really fun and exciting place but I’m still nervous I won’t be able to afford anything/get all my stuff stolen… Time will tell.

PS, Cathay Pacific has really nice planes and the pilot is extremely British.

0 Responses to “Beginnings of a Long Summer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Flickr Photos


