Shave and a Haircut, 2¢


…Not quite, but a buck fifty ain’t so bad either. I got a haircut today, do you like it? I don’t care either way but the haircutting itself was really something special.

For my meager 10 RMB, I received a trendy, Asian hipster slaving over my hair doing everything in his power to make it look nice (that I would allow him at least).

He started by washing my hair (which was caked in sweat from the humid, smoggy Beijing summer) and massaging my scalp for a couple minutes. Then whisked me to a chair where his nimble hands flicked, snipped, combed, and cut away at my revitalized hair for a good half hour without pause. Each movement extended from the previous with the masterful fluidity like a ballet on my head. All the while he made guesses as to where my hair had been and kept recommending ways for it to reach its full potential (I think I’ll pass on the perm and highlights). While the end result isn’t exactly the best result I’ve ever had, that’s probably more because Chinese people like different hairstyles than Westerners do but I feel that the experience itself was worth far more than the price of admission. Besides, I could think of far worse fates than bearing a slight resemblance to Bruce Lee

0 Responses to “Shave and a Haircut, 2¢”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Flickr Photos


