A Little Update

I should probably explain why I haven’t been posting for the past week so here goes. First of all, my family got in on the 27th so I’ve been spending time with them which means less free time and less blogging. Furthermore, it turns out that the Chinese government has been tracking my blog and is none to pleased with the rhetoric. Don’t worry, I’m not changing anything, I’ll just have to hide my tracks a bit better. Finally, I am no longer in Beijing and have been travelling around with irregular internet access and being the jackass that I am, I’ve misplaced my charger along the way and won’t be able to get a new one until I return to Beijing (Thursday). I am typing this from a netbook, i.e. the worst typing interface in the world. When I get my computer back up and running, you can expect a long slough of posts about Shanghai, the expo, Huangshan, and other places I’ve been this past week. For now all I have to say is that Shanghai is exponentially more pleasant than Beijing (I promise I will elaborate) and that the World Expo is a terrible place to be and you should not go. Basically, it’s a collection of jumbo-sized, travel brochures that you have to pay 160 Yuan and 4 hours of line-waiting time to read. What’s more, all these elaborate structures are going to be demolished come the end of the expo. But I’m getting ahead of myself of course because these are stories for another time. And so on.

A pat on the back if you caught the literary reference in the post and an apology for the lack of a picture.

4 Responses to “A Little Update”


  1. 1 Jasmine August 4, 2010 at 7:47 am

    can I say amen to Shanghai Expo = terrible place to be? Was there in June and one day was more than enough.

    • 2 brainalleakage August 4, 2010 at 9:44 am

      This tends to be the general consensus. I’m not sure what I was expecting but it definitely wasn’t what I ended up getting.

  2. 3 Omer Zach August 7, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I haven’t read Breakfast of Champions, but from reading Slaughterhouse-Five last weekend, Command-F, and Vonnegut’s Wikipedia page, I guess that’s the work of literature you referenced?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Flickr Photos


